Pakistan Defeats New Zealand in Thrilling ODI Series

Pakistan secured a thrilling victory against New Zealand in the ODI series, winning the third and final match by 26 runs. This win marks the first time Pakistan has won an ODI series against New Zealand since 2011.

The series was highly anticipated, as both teams were in good form and had several talented players. The first two matches were played in Rawalpindi, where New Zealand won the first match by 61 runs, while Pakistan won the second match by six wickets.

The third and final match took place at the National Bank Stadium in Karachi, and it was a highly competitive encounter. Pakistan won the toss and chose to bat first, with opener Fakhar Zaman putting in an impressive performance, scoring 65 runs. Skipper Babar Azam also contributed with 77 runs, while Abdullah Shafique and Salman Ali Agha scored quickfire 41 and 29 runs respectively. In the end, Pakistan scored 287 runs for the loss of six wickets.

New Zealand’s response started positively, with openers Tom Latham and Rachin Ravindra putting on a 74-run partnership. However, Pakistan’s bowlers then took control, with Shaheen Afridi taking three wickets, while Haris Rauf and Hasan Ali took two wickets each. Despite a valiant effort from New Zealand’s lower order, they were ultimately bowled out for 261 runs, giving Pakistan a 26-run victory.

Several players from both teams stood out during the series. For Pakistan, Babar Azam and Shaheen Afridi were the top performers, while for New Zealand, Tom Latham and Matt Henry were in excellent form. The series was a fantastic showcase of high-quality cricket, with both teams playing their best and providing fans with some thrilling moments.

Overall, Pakistan’s victory in the ODI series against New Zealand is a significant achievement, and it bodes well for the team’s upcoming fixtures. With the T20 World Cup approaching, Pakistan will be hoping to carry this momentum forward and continue their winning ways.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *